How good is your vocabulary?

WIN_20160705_19_14_29_Pro (2)I love writing.

But a particular question slipped in through the unlocked  back door of my mind.

And inquiry that intruder made was: how broad is my vocabulary?

My vocab  or simply the words jump to freedom via my tongue, maybe just a little light.

Obviously, I could use a variety of words that could somewhat give this piece …a higher literary standing – we all use the thesaurus sometimes.

But the thing is  some words just don’t fit into my vocab  cupboard.

But the grave question is more, how strong is my vocabulary?

In addition,  a novel which I recently finished had me, frequently, searching for a, battered and abused,  Dictionary – words such as goest, hue, cirrus, and coyly.

And this led me to  question whether  everybody’s is becoming  little weaker For as I receive my results I was  given an example of the common result by age and I was surprised that results for us – again us in our twenties – was quite low.

I did a vocabulary test online – my result was  average. I was  given an example of the common result by age and I was surprised that results for us – again us in our twenties – was quite low.

However, I was  given an example of the common result by age and I was surprised that results for people in their twenties  seemed to me to be  quite, not terribly, low.

This led two more question – politely rung the doorbell.

1. Is this era where reading and  writing skills are simply of less importance?

2. And maybe something is replacing our vocabulary skills  –  We so often express emotions through Smileys.

I don’t know but I believe that technology is having an effect. After all, I am a huge grammry.com fan….:)

 

Leave a Reply

